Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wishiwasinoz

Pleaching trees (stilted hedge) in Jacksonville?

wishiwasinoz
10 years ago

I would like to start a pleached stilted hedge on the inside of our pool area to hide the screen I loathe & add some privacy. Ideally, I would like the European hornbeam, but I don't think that will grow well here. Another option would be a pleached lime tree, as these are often used in Europe. I'm not so sure I want lime. The main characteristic of the tree is that is has to have the ability to inosculate.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated. I am a gardening newbie & am really looking forward to starting this project in our new home. I know there will be a lot of initial maintenance & I am okay with this. I also know I will have to manicure these plants around the pool. The solar cover will go down while I do this so all the debris does not end up in the pool.

The length is about 40' & I will only do the pleaching on that side. It faces kind of northeast & we are near the intercostal.

Thank you kindly for any suggestions.

I'll attach a couple of photos. First is our pool area:

Comments (23)

• wishiwasinoz
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Another photo

• wishiwasinoz
    Original Author
    10 years ago

One more

• Carol love_the_yard (Zone 9A Jacksonville, FL)
    10 years ago

That's a cool technique and idea. Why on the inside of the pool cage, though? How do you plan to trim and shape as the trees grow up against the screen? Do you realize how persistent new branches and growth can be? They will pop right through your screen if you are not very, very vigilant. And falling leaves will be in your pool? I don't see it working too well with the plants/trees on the inside.