Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nishklepp

Growing Blueberries in Central Florida

nishklepp
10 years ago

Hey guys! Newbie here:

My husband and I purchased some blue berry plants (Bright well and Powder Blue) at a plant sale this weekend. The gentleman gave us a lot of information. None of which I remember.

Could anyone give me some tips on growing blue berries? We're in Central Florida. The plants have little white buds that are beginning to flower. I'm not really sure if I can grow them in containers or if it's better to plant in ground. I have giant 15" deep containers that I got at a the garden center down the road (10 for $5. WOO!). My soil is just awful though. It's super sandy and when you get deeper orange clay :/ I get basically any type of sunlight you could ask. From practically sun in the backyard because of all the trees to full sun in the front yard and the the east and partial sun in the west side. Thanks for your help in advance :)

Comments (27)

• loufloralcityz9
    10 years ago

Missnish,
    I have all my 70 to 80 blueberry bushes planted in 55 gallon blue barrels cut in half which makes nice large 25-30 gallon pots for the bushes. The plants need full sun and must never be allowed to dry out. The best potting soil is a mixture of pine bark and ground up peat (with coffee grounds mixed in). Blueberry bushes are acid loving plants and want a 5 to 5.5 PH. A top 2" to 3" layer of pine straw helps keep the roots cool in the hot Florida sun.

Lou

Please read up on the link I posted of prior questions we had... It should answer most of your questions.

Here is a link that might be useful: Blueberry Lovers

• bamboo_rabbit
    10 years ago

Missnish,