Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
goms_gw

First garden in patio

goms
10 years ago

I am new to gardening though I did a bit with my grandmother when I was a kid. Now I am interested in container gardening in my patio which gets real hot in summer but no direct sunlight. I live in Gainesville, Florida (Zone8). I wish to grow cilantro, mint and curry leaves. Can they be grown in containers in my patio? What type of soil/potting mix should I use? I have a community garden space in my apartment and I can get compost from there. I also would like to grow holy basil in a pot. Can someone help me out? Thank you.

Comments (6)

• derbyka
    10 years ago

I have the same situation as you. I get only about 2 hours of direct sun but a lot of heat in the summer. Unfortunately, through trial and error the past 6 years, I have learned that a lot of things just won't grow in those conditions. Cilantro doesn't like heat period and won't grow in the summer hear. Culantro might be an option instead as it is more heat tolerant and shade tolerant. Mint does not do well as it likes at least some light and doesn't like the very high temps. You might try it in the cooler months. Cat litter pails make very good, light pots with handles. Before I had plots in a community garden, I would plant in these and carry them out everyday to a place with more light right outside the yard. Compost + perlite + pine fines + a little bit of lime makes a good basic potting soil.

• carolb_w_fl_coastal_9b
    10 years ago

Herbs definitely need more sun than described above - otherwise, they can easily be grown in containers w/ regular potting mix.

• goms
    Original Author
    10 years ago