Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thonotorose

Bio Char

thonotorose
10 years ago

Starting this thread in the hope that it will begin a great discussion about this garden amendment. Amazing info online. Seems to be a miraculous product.

Just ordered a cubic foot for $50 with free shipping.

Bio char MUST be "charged". That means you make a tea with manure, urine, live whey, compost and such and soak the char in that for 2 weeks, then apply.

If you don't charge it, it will not work and may be detremental for your garden for the first year or two. That is because the carbon absorbs nutrients from the soil unless charged first.

Char is effective if as little as 3% of the root area is char.

Will post results.

Comments (21)

• pnbrown
    10 years ago

It works, I can attest to that. I have been adding it to my MA garden for many years.

Since florida sand is so impoverished that it is impossible to grow crops without considerable enrichment, it is overwhelmingly likely that we are adding more nutrients than is immediately required that are being lost in every heavy rain. So even un-charged char will help - IOW, if you've got established beds and char, no need to wait for charging - get some in there right away. It is best by far to grind the char to dust but that is a messy business. Stay upwind or wear a mask.

• thetradition
    10 years ago

I tried it a year ago. Didn't charge it. It worked better than Black Kow, but wasn't "miraculous".

Two of my tomato plants lived through the winter are are still producing. One was in the biochar plot and one was planted around my Japanese tomato ring. Both survivors were the Sun Gold cherry variety

• Michael AKA Leekle2ManE
    10 years ago