Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pnbrown

cold-hardy avocados

pnbrown
13 years ago

So over a year ago I planted four young cold-hardy avocado plants at my 9a (or perhaps 8b) north-central location. All four were killed in the hard freeze this past january. There does not appear to be any sprouting even from the roots, which is surprising to me. Even banana roots easily survive such cold-snaps.

Question is, if these supposedly cold-hardy varieties can be nursed along to a good size, will they survive such freezes (24 degrees over 4 hrs)? There is a large thriving avocado tree at the lake county gardens. Of course, that site might be a half-zone milder than mine.

Comments (33)

• whgille
    13 years ago

Hi Pat

I am no avocado expert and I am in zone 9b. In my area I planted the Brogdon that I was told by the expert grower it would take the cold. When we had the freeze and I saw him again he was not too sure, lol.

But I protected it from the cold as I could since I was not prepared with mini greenhouses or such. My neighbors who also bought one after sampled my fruit covered teirs with blankets and also survived.

The expert told me that he put big amounts of compost around the trunks, you do want to protect more than anything else.

When I made a trip to Just fruits in Tallahasee they had a huge Brogdon avocado without any protection, while they had big structures made to protect their citrus.

I hope somebody from colder areas than mine gives you advice.

Here is my Brogdon in a picture taken recently

Silvia

• billbrandi
    13 years ago

I'll echo the cold-hardiness of a Brogdon. I have one about 12-15 feet tall that has made it through several freezes without a problem. I have several other non-Brogdons that I had to rip out when the cold got them even though they were covered (didn't do anything to protect my Brogdon).

• timetraveler zone 9b Melbourne Beach, Florida
    13 years ago