Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
crueltyfre

climbing roses??

crueltyfre
12 years ago

My yard has been so shady for so long (and the little sun beds I had beside the pool had to stay free for the pool guy to move around (now he uses the bridge)) that I've never grown roses.

My next door neighbors are moving and they gave me two very large metal trellis's. I put them in the backyard in that bare area I had stashed all my plants for the swap, running on the other side of the side walk across from the honeysuckle. I'm thinking of a climbing rose, but know nothing about them. Those who know my yard...would one grow there? any special variety? are they diva's and difficult? (with the dad situation no diva plants! just don't have the time/energy/desire to coddle things anymore).

I'm open to other ideas for these things if you have any...

Lori

Comments (11)

• imagardener2
    12 years ago

I don't know your yard but I have been growing roses for several years, most are heirloom own root types with a few David Austin rooted on Fortuniana. Shade is not a big problem in Florida, I've had better luck in shade than in sun.

I also grow a lot of climbers because space is short in my small yard so I go up as much as possible. Heirloom roses however grow up AND out lol.

Here are some you might consider that have done well for me:
    Climbing Pinkie-rarely out of bloom but no fragrance. My neighbor is always coveting it over any other rose in my yard.

Climbing Maman Cochet-forget the trellis this one needs something stronger like rebar. Big blossomed, frequent bloomer, beautiful shades of pink rose, fragrant, many petalled, exactly what an "old-fashioned" rose should look like. Negative: wicked thorns. Put her in a place she can't hurt you and let 'er go. Mine now has a central tree-like stem so she is self-supporting after 3 years due to pruning to that shape.