Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
michiru4ever

Help for a newbie in Melbourne

michiru4ever
10 years ago

I'm very new to gardening, especially in Florida. We live in the Melbourne area in zone 9 b. Our house is very shaded in the front by oak trees. We have one small area at the very front by the garage that gets some morning and indirect sun but is shaded the rest of the day.

Our house faces South. The rest of the front is pretty much always in the shade. We want to do potted plants on top of rocks for the front, and bushes by the garage. We were thinking of hydrangeas but my mothers says azaleas would be better. Does anyone have advice about good shady flowering plants? And plants that do well in containers in full shade?

Comments (7)

• Michael AKA Leekle2ManE
    10 years ago

I'm sure someone will chime in with blooming plant suggestions, but as I dig through my memory of plants I have read up on, the ones that will bloom in shade will usually "Bloom more profusely in the sun."

An option to go with, unless you're dead set on having blooms, is to look at plants with variegated/colorful foliage. There are several plants that have a range of colors from the 'warm' side of the color spectrum. Using mixes of caladiums, coleus and... well... there are too many for me to readily bring to mind and list... but it could be very possible to have the most colorful yard on the block without a single (noticeable) flower among the plants. And the plus is you don't have to worry about figuring out which season the plants bloom in, because they will always be 'in bloom'. The downside is that most of these plants are somewhat frost sensitive and might need protecting during the winter. But, while I could be wrong, I think being in 9b, facing south, near the coast and with two big oaks providing cover, the amount of protection you will have to provide should be minimal.

• thetradition
    10 years ago