Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marymilkweed

Some questions on growing cucumbers?

marymilkweed
15 years ago

This is my first year growing cucumbers here in Central Florida. I started them from seeds the first week in March because of our late winter weather. I'm growing Poinsett 76 because it was on the FL list. Here are my questions; how long into the hot weather can I expect them to last? Is there a better choice then this variety? I really want to grow for pickling, so what pickler does well here? The other problem is the plants are doing great, full of blooms, mostly male flowers, but no bees? I'm already hand pollinating the summer squash and winter squash, but these seem more tedious to try hand pollinating. I'm afraid hot weather will set in before I get to harvest a full grown cucumber. Would I do better to grow cucumbers in the Fall? Any suggestions would be appreciated, I am looking forward to making my own Bread & Butter pickles down the road.

Comments (17)

• mikie_gw
    15 years ago

I've grown cucumbers spring and fall, a different florida flavor in a salad garden - Always had way too many. Never needed hand polinating and seldom see regular bee'z.

• watermelon7
    15 years ago

Cucumbers are closely related to cantaloupes, squash, and other melons. As we all know, melons love hot weather, and are cultivated 3/4 of the year: Spring, Summer, and Fall. Your cucumbers will be fine. Plant them whenever you want until 90 days before first frost, shorter for early varieties.

Types of melons we are growing right now are: Black Watermelon, Straight 8 Cucumber, Lemon Cucumber, Early Prolific Summer Squash, Sierra Gold Cantaloupe, and Sweet 'n Early Hybrid Cantaloupe.
    We are about to put out within the next few weeks:
    Grey Pumpkin, Round Orange Pumpkin, and Atlantic Giant pumpkin.

• an_ill-mannered_ache
    15 years ago

Here are my questions; how long into the hot weather can I expect them to last?