Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
talynne_gw

Beginner and New Area

Talynne
11 years ago

Hi
I'm a beginner gardener and I just moved to the coast area. I am just beginning my garden and I am unsure of the sandy /soil mixture and want to hear about thoughts and ideas about the plants I am growing.
My garden hopefully will consist of basic vegs.
Asparagus
broccoli
spinach
herbs (of all kinds)
melons
tomatoes
cucumbers
onions
SO my question is will they grow fine in the sandy/soil ground or are there tips and tricks I need to know .
Thanks
^_^ New gardener with love of green

Comments (5)

• zzackey
    11 years ago

Asparagus doesn't grow here. Not enough cold in the winter. Broccoli, spinach and onions are cool weather crops. Plant them in the fall. The others will do ok in the sandy soil, but you would be much better off if you can add organic matter to the soil. Such as leaves, dried grass, kitchen scraps, no meat or greasy things. Animal manure. That has to be composted for several months so it doesn't burn your plants. I'm growing mine in hugels now. You should google it. After one year supposedly you don't have to water or fertilize!! Up my alley! Welcome to Florida. I'm just 8 miles over the border and I lived in Vero Beach for 17 years.

• chance71
    11 years ago

My first advice is dont give up! My first attempt here in the sand was a total flop. My sandy soil did not have enough nutrition for any thing to grow. You have never seen sadder plants...it was pitiful...Amend , amend and amend your soil. I have started a compost pile so the i can amend my soil often as it is not a one time done sort of thing here. It might take a couple of seasons to get it right but you can do it!

• loufloralcityz9
    11 years ago