Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
derbyka

Tips for Harvesting Onions?

derbyka
12 years ago

This is my first time growing onions and the tops are starting to die back on some of them. I was wondering if anyone had tips for harvesting here in FL. I know that short day onions don't typically store very long, but what can I do to maximize the length of time they might hold up? I am concerned about how to long to leave in the ground and how cure in the humid climate. I am growing in a community garden and it looks like some of the other gardeners have onions planted much earlier than mine that just kept going through the season to bloom etc. Is there something I should do if they don't die back properly?

Comments (8)

• tinael01
    12 years ago

Sylivia pulls them up after the tops die back and she stores them in a spare room under a desk in sawdust?? I tried so hard to find that post and now regret that I didn't know to clip posts back then. darn it.

My onions are still green on top and haven't bulbed. I think it didn't ever get cool enough and they are still waiting for fall!

• whgille
    12 years ago

Hi Derbika and Tina

My onions every year are different depending on where I got them or the weather...
    This year the ones that I got in Lowes turn out really good, Tina did you see the onions by the fence? I harvested those because they are not going to grow any bigger and I put them in the porch in a shady spot on top of 2 crates, the bottom is empty and the other full, you can line them with newspapers but is not necessary. They will dry there, do not cut any tops. Some I started to use them in cooking, others will be left to dry...
    The other set of onions that I got in another place still look like scallions so I let them stay in the ground till I can use them as such...
    And I also grew red onions from seed and they still look like scallions.:)