Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
leekle2mane

Dearest Tomato Gurus

The following images show a degree of yellowing that is beyond what my mother finds appropriate in her tomato plants. I told her I would pass on these images to those who are much more knowledgeable in the ways of tomatoes than myself.

She says she waters them every afternoon when she gets home from work (so around 5:15-6:00pm) and the soil is never bone dry. She thinks this yellowing is from over-watering, but is afraid to cut back on her watering as the romas in particular will be wilting pretty heavily from the heat by this time. I'm thinking since they're containered, they might need a booster shot of fertilizer to provide some nutrients since I don't think they've been 'fed' since February or so. But I wanted to get some Expert opinions on this before I proceed on her plants.

Romas:

Sweeties:

Comments (8)

• L_in_FL
    10 years ago

I am no expert, but I don't think that overwatering alone causes spots like that. Here's a link to a tomato disease diagnostic guide (with pictures).

Most tomato diseases can be controlled - at least for a while - by keeping the damaged foliage clipped off and spraying. REMOVE the diseased foliage from the garden - do not compost it or leave it laying on the ground - it will re-infect the plants.

If you want to stay organic, Actinovate and Serenade are both labeled for most tomato diseases. Both also work best if used early on in the course of the disease. She needs to treat them, especially the Sweeties, ASAP - those spots go pretty far up the plant.

As to fertilizer, they do look a little pale. With them being in containers, they probably do need a feeding.

Here is a link that might be useful: Tomato Problem Solver

• whgille
    10 years ago

Hi Leekle