Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
caddyny

Tropic Beauty Peach Harvest

caddyny
14 years ago

I planted a tropic beauty this spring and have a dozen peaches that look ripe but are hard as a rock. will they soften if left longer on the tree and how long should i wait to pick?

Comments (16)

• maggiepearl
    14 years ago

We have been harvesting for a week now...I do believe I am an expert at picking the perfect tropical peach. They are much firmer than GA peaches. A perfectly ripe peach is completely red, no yellow...and very, very slightly wrinkled. It will be melt in your mouth delicious. The less than perfect ones are a bit tart, a bit crunchy, like an apple...but still very good. They are good for cooking.

• caddyny
    Original Author
    14 years ago

thanks. i'll give it another week or so to soften up.

• dghays
    14 years ago

There'll be some give to a gentle squeeze, and they'll have a smell that compels you to eat them.

Gary

• billbrandi
    14 years ago

Mine are the same way. I wait until they are yellow/red but still hard, then pick and wife puts in a brown paper bag in the kitchen. They ripen off the tree in about 3-4 days.

Otherwise I lose them to the possums, raccoons and fruit rats that come over at night from the next door golf course. For some reason the critters leave them alone until they are ripe on the tree. Maybe they are smarter than we think.

• saldut
    14 years ago

Is this a new peach for Z 9 - 10 ? how much chill-time does it need ? this last winter was colder than usual could that be why they are fruiting ? I'd love to try it but am hesitant becaouse of the chill-time needed, unless this is a new variety for Z 9-10... I don't have a lot of room left in the yard.... thanks for any information on this variety, sally

• dghays
    14 years ago

150 chill hours, been around for some years, works in 10a.

• gcmastiffs
    14 years ago