Return to the Florida Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What is wrong with my blackberries? (pics included)

Posted by m5allen 9 (My Page) on
Thu, May 17, 12 at 9:08

My Natchez blackberry plant just does not seem to produce quality berries. I am not sure what I am doing wrong? This plant flowered fairly well in the beginning of spring, but the berries it produces are just not fully formed. You can see from the pics that only a few of the "bulbs" on the berry form, and the result is a tiny little mutant berry.

Can anyone help me out with this? It has been in a general potting mix amended with some pine bark fines. I fertilize every so often with liquid Miracle Gro. It gets sun for most of the day and I try to keep it watered, but not overwatered. It seems to have some nice new growth coming from the base of the plant, so I am not sure what is going on with the berry production?

I am pretty new to gardening, so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What is wrong with my blackberries? (pics included)

I think it is just down to incomplete pollination.Do you notice any bees or other pollinators on the flowers(especially early morning)?I have literally hundreds of wild blackberry plants on my property(each year they pop up in new areas,as the birds drop the seeds in their droppings) & they are covered in pollinators,but I still get some berries that are not fully formed-they still taste great though.Have you considered planting in the ground & letting it spread?It will give you better fruit production & attract more pollinators.Hope this helps

o

Could it be stunted because of the small container? I have blackberries in the ground & the roots seem quite extensive - suckers pop up yards away from the main plants.

o