Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ibarbidahl

What needs a rootstock?

ibarbidahl
10 years ago

I'm starting a new project and I am admitedly a complete and total novice at rooting. So, I thought what better place to start than to come and ask advice here?

I plan on starting as many different types of edible trees and bushes as possible in the next few years for transplanting up onto what will eventually be our homestead property in Alabama. Meanwhile I have no intention of stopping what I do here, so no worries there!

The only things I have ever rooted are sweet potatoes and a geranium. Both by throwing them into water and waiting for roots to form and then potting them up. I'm thinking that isn't good enough for making new trees. LOL. So PLEASE feel free to throw advice my way. I DO plan on doing plenty of research, but still wisdom gleaned by way of doing is always more valuable.

So for now I have several things in my yard that I can propogate if they don't need rootstock - but I know that Apples and peaches do need rootstock.

Will these work without rootstock?

Pom WonderfuL
Dwarf Pom
Persimmon
plum
fig
guava
blueberry
kiwi (OK I know it doesn't need rootstock, but will it propogate?)
(Dad's house in Jax)
pear & nectarine

Any other ideas of (perrineal) edibles that will live in zone 8 I can work on finding around here?

I'm also trying to figure out where in the world I'm going to keep all these cutting/rootings for their best chance of survival. I may need to set up a seperate small sprinkler so I can manage their watering a little closer for the first couple months.