Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jespere_gw

Sweet potatoes

jespere
12 years ago

Hi all, I have been doing some reading on here about sweet potatoes but it seems like every time I have found a thread about to give the answer, the subject changes! lol. I was just wondering, has anyone found a bush-type sweet potato plant that grows well in central Florida?

Also, it seems like a lot of people have had success leaving the vines for a few years, how do you deal with the nematodes and weevils?

Thanks! I love gardening but I have never attempted sweet potatoes before!

Comments (13)

• whgille
    12 years ago

Hi

I have been growing successfully bush sweet potatoes for about 3 years in Central Florida if that answer your question.

I don't on purpose live them on the ground for more than one season, but sometimes they are left over from previous harvest.

And I always try to plant the sweet potatoes in different place than were grown before.

Now is the right time to plant them, all my bush sweet potatoes are doing well.

Silvia

• dlsm
    12 years ago

Hi,

Here is a picture of my Bush Porto Rico potatoes slips I set out April 15. Now is the time to grow them during the hot summer months.

Bush Porto Rico Sweet Potato

Luther

• pnbrown
    12 years ago

When reading about SP's you will constantly encounter the advice to not amend or fertilize the soil. This is because in many regions of north america the soil is more than fertile enough to produce good crops of SP, and in many cases the ground has enough residual N to stimulate vine growth at the expense of tuber production.