Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
happy_fl_gardener

Vegetable highlight: Cucumbers

It has been a good year for cucumbers, but I have to admit that this is the only veggie that I am not growing in the ground. I am growing them in 2 Earthboxes. One has 7 plants and the other has 8 plants. I placed them along the garden fence so I didn't have to add any additional support.

Out of the several varieties, only 2 varieties I am pleased with. I put some in the photo to show them. The larger one is called 'Burpless' and the other is Michael's favorite 'Cucino'. Not only are they good producers but they have very good flavor and a thin skin.

Since we have more cukes than we can eat I resorted to making bread and butter pickles. Next I will make some garlic/dill sour refrigerator pickles (cold pack).

The "Marinated Cucumber Salad" recipe that I have been making for the last 10 years or so, came from a local restaurant. This one is easy to make and is very tasty. I will post the recipe if someone wants it.

So, what are your favorite recipes for cucumbers?

What are your favorite cuke varieties to grow?

Christine

Comments (9)

• olyagrove
    15 years ago

I will post the recipe if someone wants it.
    Pleeease

I grew cucumbers before but failed miserably as some nasty worm attacked them...I never tried after that

Your harvest looks great!

• linchat
    15 years ago

Yeah me to. I usually get one cucumber before something ultimately kills the plant. This year I ordered Poinsette seeds which are supposed to have some powdery mildew resistance. Generally been my biggest problem.

And I have 8 plants going in different places, I am playing the odds this time. I think the odds are in my favor! :)

• whgille
    15 years ago

Christine

From the varieties of cucumbers I am growing I like Diva the best. I am still waiting for others to ripen. I made this today.

Silvia

Here is a link that might be useful: Spicy Pickled Cucumbers

• tomncath
    15 years ago