Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
love_the_yard

Free Pink Amaryllis Seeds

I grow hundreds of amaryllis/hippeastrum and I am swimming in fresh seeds. I would love to give them away to anyone that wants to try them. Just send me a self-addressed, stamped envelope.

I have been growing amaryllis since about 2006 and do all my own crosses, so these are not named bulbs. They are all some shade of pink - either hot pink, dark pink or salmon pink. Some have a green throat and some are pure pink to the center.

The seed pods were huge this year and the seeds are very fresh and big. I have about 75 seedlings from last year that I still haven't planted, so I can't use these.

The seeds are easy to start. Just lay them on top of moist soil, cover them with about 1/4 inch of soil, keep moist and place in full/part sun. (If you don't cover them with a little bit of soil, place them out of the wind because they will blow away easily.) Then watch them grow!

If you are interested, please send me an email and I will send you my address. Just send me a regular self-addressed, stamped envelope. The seeds are flat and can easily be mailed in a regular envelope. A padded envelope is not necessary.

Link to send me an email is below.

Carol in Jacksonville

Here is a link that might be useful: Send me an email

This post was edited by love_the_yard on Sun, May 26, 13 at 12:03

Comments (112)

• aharriedmom
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

^^ They won't be able to wash away, but they could possibly move around if we get a hard rain and destroy my attempt at organization.

Thanks, I think I will cover them with something if it looks like we'll get a hard rain and not worry about them with the lighter rains we're getting.

I do think it rained pretty hard last night, iirc after being woken from sleep, but when I checked them there didn't seem to be much movement of mix in the container. But better safe than disorganized, lol.

• marcia_m
    10 years ago