Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vincefla904

St. Augustine Grass, First Time Home Owner, Please Help :'-(

VinceFLA904
10 years ago

Hi All,

I live on the east coast of Florida in St. Augustine. First time home buyer and this is my first time taking care of a lawn. I've been working very hard lately trying to get my lawn back to life but I haven't had much luck.

I've had the lawn fertilized twice already, aerated, and I've been watering twice a week for 15 minutes per zone. Not to mention we just got 11 inches of rain a few weeks ago.

The sod looked great when it was put down in the winter, but never recovered from it. I have exposed roots and heavy layers of thatch sporadically around my yard which i've tried to rake up.

Any suggestions on how to help fix these exposed and bare areas would be appreciated!

This post was edited by VinceFLA904 on Sat, May 18, 13 at 15:14

Comments (19)

• VinceFLA904
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here's a nice picture, see how the lawn is spotty?

• VinceFLA904
    Original Author
    10 years ago

The area closest to my home looks wonderful, I dont know why it's any different then the rest of the yard. I have built in irrigation that should equally distribute water.

• joeworm
    10 years ago

10:1 water to urine will fix it

• VinceFLA904
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I don't understand what you're saying. Mix urine and water and put it on the lawn? lol. I heard lime might help, perhaps measure the pH? But why would it be good in some areas bad in others....recommendations please help

• ladywingr
    10 years ago

First thing I see is that it appears to be mowed too short. St Augustine should be mowed no lower than 3.5 to 4". I have attached a link to a Univ of FL publication on St Augustine care. Hope it helps.

Here is a link that might be useful: St Augustine care

• starryrider
    10 years ago