Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newbiegardner

How to Get Lychee Tree to Give Fruit?

newbiegardner
15 years ago

Folks,

I purchased two (2) Lychee trees from different nurseries about 3-4 years ago.

The trees grew beautifully and are now almost 8-10 feet tall. See picture of one of them below:

The problem is that the trees have NEVER given fruit. Now I am a real novice at fruit trees and gardening in general and have never given any fertilizer to this tree. We have mango trees and guava trees and Sugar Apple trees with similar fertilizer care (or lack of care) and have tons of fruit.

Are lychee trees a difficult tree for a novice? Could the lack of fertilizer be the cause of no fruit? Could we have somehow purchased two "male" or two "female" trees and they can't breed? Is this even a consideration with Lychee trees? Are the trees too "young" for fruit?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Comments (15)

• tony_k_orlando
    15 years ago

WOW what a GREAT looking tree that is.

My Litchi has to be the most difficult to keep looking good of all the trees I have.

Its just about 5ft tall and does have fruit {{gwi:869700}}

Does your tree EVER flower? That would be the first step required to have fruit.

If it flowers and they drop off, that could be nutrient related OR a fungal situation.

I hope these few fruit make it to maturity, I would like to be able to try them and determine if this tree is worthy of staying or not.

Unreal how great your tree looks!

Tony

• ben_in_sofla
    15 years ago