Return to the Florida Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Natal Plum (Carissa macrocarpa) cuttings propagation, how to?

Posted by happyvegan 10B (My Page) on
Thu, May 23, 13 at 18:41

We had to move our very large Natal Plum from the front of our home today due to new windows going in. It required an excavator to move it. I am praying and praying that it survives the move.

Anyway, I had to trim it up prior to moving it. Well I have all of these trimmings and want to try propagating them. I have them soaking right now in Superthrive. So now what do I need to do?

I appreciate any and all suggestions.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Natal Plum (Carissa macrocarpa) cuttings propagation, how to?

I've never heard of anyone growing fruit trees from cuttings, but you will need to water that transplant really well every day for the next few weeks and keep it moist (but not wet) all summer.

o

I've grown fruit trees from cuttings many times up north, this is my first year trying to root out fruit tree trim cuttings in Florida.I also soak them in super thrive as the starter. Keep the direct sun off them but they do need diffused light. Keep them well misted, if they dry out they are toast. Fogger nozzles on a timer works well for that.

Lou

o

Lou, I hope you have some success. What do you use as a medium?

MOO (I've always wanted to do that)!
Carol

o

Do you consider carissa a fruit tree? I know the fruit is edible, but I don't know anyone who grows it for that. Just curious as to whether you use it or just treat it as an ornamental shrub.

o

I love the scent of those flowers - 1 of my faves!