Return to the Florida Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
When to re-pot blueberries?

Posted by m5allen 9 (My Page) on
Tue, May 1, 12 at 21:05

This is my first time posting on this forum.

I have a couple different varieties of southern highbush blueberries. Right now, they are in 3 gallon black plastic nursery pots. I bought some 15" terra cotta pots and want to transplant them.

Most of what I have read says to transplant in the winter when they are dormant. Is this correct? I figured they would do best when they are in active growth mode, when we are getting the summer rains.

Should I transplant now, wait until the summer rains come, or wait until winter. I really don't want to wait until winter because I want to get some good growth out of them. But I am a bit afraid of the stress of re-potting in the summer sun. But I guess I could put them in the shade for a couple of days after the transplant.

Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: When to re-pot blueberries?

You can transplant them now. Just make sure you keep them moist and I would let them have only morning sun for a few days.

o

Thanks bamboo, it seems that you are the resident expert on the berries.

What do you think about this�I would prefer to re-pot now, but you know May is a tough month in FL because it is hot but we don�t yet get the summer rains. I am nervous about using my well water to keep the re-potted plants moist. I just had my well water tested and it came out to a PH reading of about 6, which isn�t too bad I guess, but still not ideal for blueberries. I have been putting some vinegar in the well water, but I don�t have a PH test kit at home, so I don�t know what affect the vinegar is having on the well water.

Do you think it would be better to wait about a month when the plants will hopefully be getting watered with rainwater?

o