Return to the Florida Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Wilting and Yellow/Brown leaves

Posted by kaysnydes none (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 20, 12 at 10:33

Hi, I'm new to gardening. have a small plot in our community garden in central FL and I've planted a number of vegetables from seeds and some transplants. A lot of my plants have leaves that sort of look like they are wilting -- especially the Okra (see picture). At first I thought it was red ants because I've seen a lot of those in the garden. I've also noticed a lot of tiny yellow ovalish things on the underside of leaves. A lot of plants have yellow and brown spots (especially the pole beans) and are losing leaves. My cherry tomato plants and sweet potato have also been affected. It seems that the leaves on the bottom of the plants have more damage than the top (for the tomatoes).

Any idea what is causing this? What do I do? Thanks in advance for your input :)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Wilting and Yellow/Brown leaves

And here's a tomato plant...

o

And pole beans

o

• Posted by whgille Oakland FL Zone 9B (My Page) on
    Wed, Jun 20, 12 at 12:48

Hi Kaysnydes

Welcome to the Florida garden forum and gardening!

Where in Central Florida are you located? that info is important, I give advice to my local community garden and now only the heat resistant crops will grow with the rains, the heat and humidity.
The plot that you have now, was the soil amended? In our Florida sandy soil okra and tomatoes get a problem from nematodes unless there is a lot of organic material in the soil. Pole beans get replaced with butterbeans or cowpeas for the summer.
For sweet potatoes, you need a good space, mine are doing fine in a raised bed.

My bush sweet potatoes today

Photobucket

Butterbeans

Photobucket

The last cherry tomato plants, soon I will be taking them out.

Photobucket

Silvia

o