Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thelauren

New To gardening and florida

TheLauren
10 years ago

Hello Everyone! I have been perusing the forums and everyone here seems so helpful and informative.

I love to cook and bake, and be outside. I am hoping to bring together my joys, and start a vegetable garden.

I am moving to Lake Mary next month, and my property has 3 acres. There are a few citrus trees currently on property, and there are lots of trees, and dense underbrush. There is a nice sunny patch that I can use as well.

I'm fairly handy in a workshop so I plan to make raised beds and my own trellis. I also really want to compost.

My real question is how much time do I have to dedicate to gardening? I've never done it before, and I don't know enough about Lake Mary's weather. Is this a ridiculous endeavor?

Comments (11)

• bamboo_rabbit
    10 years ago

Moving to Lake Mary from where?

• TheLauren
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I'm coming from Long Island, NY. My mother has some beautiful plants. Hopefully I have inherited her green thumb.

The other important question- How expensive is this hobby?

• Carol love_the_yard (Zone 9A Jacksonville, FL)
    10 years ago

Here is what I have noted on the expense side: as you get more and more into it (read "addicted"), items for your garden move from the "luxury" column to the "necessity" column. :)

Carol in Jacksonville

• thetradition
    10 years ago

It does require time to tend to our gardens in this muggy, buggy environment. I found fall gardening to be more of a challenge than spring in that the bugs are worse at the end of summer, but my fall gardens were more productive in the end (thanks to no killing frost this year). I don't think its a ridiculous endeavor... I'm doing the same thing, and I keep investing more time and money doing it.

• jenniferinfl
    10 years ago