Raja Puri, bought it at Walmart about 1 1/2 years ago for 4 dollars

Comments (10)

• morningloree
    Original Author
    9 years ago

This guy doesn't have to produce anything, he just looks pretty

• jofus, ( Englewood, Fl zone 10a )
    9 years ago

Hi, sounds like you are knowledgeable about banana's. So many varieties out there. How would you rate the Raja Puri on taste ? I am south of you, and am planning to add another banana type besides the Goldfingers that I have been growing for 5 years.
    Just want to add one additional variety that is a bit plump, not tiny, but still tastes great,...just not interested in experimenting for 5 years ! lol
    Thanks for your opinion.

• morningloree
    Original Author
    9 years ago

This will be my first batch of Rajapuri. It is considered a dessert banana and generally a good tasting one. I'll be able to personally taste test one shortly and fill you in. Other bananas known to be tasty include: Mysore, Goldfinger, Pisang Raja, Namwa, Nino, Brazilian, all Cavendish, Misi Luki, and Red Macabo. This is a more cold hardy banana, but I lost some leaves below mid thirties. Recovery was quick. Some bananas are winter producers, but I noticed this one fruiting in May, which is a plus for me! It survived after someone tried to dig it up. In fact someone tried to take all my banana trees, my son heard a big commotion out in the yard and scared whoever it was off. They did get away with one, though. I found the Rajapuri severely leaning towards the ground and staked it upright again, but didn't have much hope. Came through though. Let me know what you decide.

9 years ago

Morningloree :