Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
judo_and_peppers

good landscaping plants to start in summer

judo_and_peppers
10 years ago

I am moving into a new place in 2 weeks, and the wife and I insist upon landscaping the backyard. now I know that's something that shoulda been started in the spring, but we didn't live there in the spring.

what are some nice looking plants that are inexpensive that I can start soon, and will look decent? I'm a college student, and we'll only be living there for a year, so budget is a concern.

I intended to plant lots of marigolds, as they attract lacewings which eat the whiteflies that are attacking my hot pepper plants. if I plant them in the summer, are they just gonna die on me in the fall?

the backyard has good sun in some areas, shade in others. I'm looking for good ideas for both areas.

if the plants are edible, that's a major plus.

Comments (4)

• Michael AKA Leekle2ManE
    10 years ago

Since you're only going to be there a year might I suggest foregoing planting things and instead 'landscape' your backyard with containered plants? This way, whatever investment you make in your landscape will be able to follow you to your next home. Unless you expect to be making a big change in climate when you move. With only a year to grow, this makes your options almost endless. You could even have small palms incorporated into your yard to give it that tropical look. The downside is that containered plants need more frequent watering, but this is something you would have to do anyways to keep 'summer planted' plants from wilting in the heat.

• judo_and_peppers
    Original Author
    10 years ago

good point. we had discussed this as well.