Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deemix33

When should I start Fall tomatoes??

DeeMix33
11 years ago

Hi all! I'm new to Florida, and wondering about growing a Fall crop of tomatoes. When should I start my seeds indoors if I want a good Fall crop? I'm hoping to try about 20 Rutgers plants for canning. Thoughts??

Comments (28)

• tinael01
    11 years ago

Where are you? Florida is a big state and the date depends on your location.

• DPSEED
    11 years ago

as a noobie i'm all ears

• tomncath
    11 years ago

Tina is right, there are THREE planting zones in Florida with significantly different times to either set plants or sow seed, it definitely depends on where you live....

Tom

• DPSEED
    11 years ago

i have about 600sq ft indoors to start plants (warehouse with /ac ..no heat)
    any tips on when to start for the fall planting in zone 10a
    and tips what grows good here in 10a

thanks tom for that link...:)

• DeeMix33
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I'm in the Daytona area, so I'm thinking I'm in 9B, right? ...Thanks so much for your help!!

• tinael01
    11 years ago

Cllick on the link above that Tom provided for you and review the planting dates for Central Florida. You'll want to start seeds 4 weeks or so before the planting date. So for a Labor day planting date, start your tomato seeds around August first. Good Luck!

• kamisha100
    11 years ago

So glad you posted this question!
    So if you start seeds indoors what should you do about lighting? Is it ok to start tray near a window, Or should I invest in one of those adjustable light kits for seed starting. I am a bit concerned about the heat the light will put off.

• hejerry
    11 years ago