Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lilquats

Starting seeds

lilquats
10 years ago

I'm beginning! I'm coming from Georgia where I worked as an apprentice on an organic market farm - I am now located in Bushnell (Sumter County), FL where I'm starting a small CSA. I have a bit of Florida gardening experience, and most of my Georgia experience transfers here as the climates aren't far off. Sunn Hemp cover crop is in the ground now.

My questions begin with starting seeds. My seeds are ordered and will be here within days. I intended to start seeds indoors under lights starting July 1st for peppers and eggplant and throughout July for tomatoes, cole crops, cukes, and everything else to be set out through August. Is this too early for seed starting? I thought it wise to start early with many many starts in succession as this first year is a bit of an experiment, as I find the best fit for my micro-climate.

So is August going to be too hot to set out my broccoli, cabbage, kale, tomatoes, squash, cucumbers & more? Also - is starting indoors under lights even necessary? Any alternatives to that? Any information helps! Specifically your rough seed starting schedules would benefit me greatly!

I'd love to start an ongoing conversation here about getting started as a young farmer in Florida, where I can throw all of my questions on y'all knowledgeable folks. Thank you in advanced!

Comments (12)

• zzackey
    10 years ago

It's perfect outside to start seeds. I used to live in Vero Beach now I live in SE Georgia. I only start seeds inside in Feb/March. I don't use lights, just a bright window and it works good for me. I'm not sure what part of the state you are in. What is your zone? I'm not good with fall/winter gardening. You should get some other responses soon that will help you. Good luck and happy growing!!

• lilquats
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I believe I'm zone 9a. I feel like it'll be too hot to start cool season crops outdoors... maybe I'm wrong?