Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
patmark_gw

I need all the help I can get

Patmark
12 years ago

Good morning everyone, Firstly let me start by apologising for the length of this post lol, I need all the help and advice I can get. I am new to GW and brand new to gardening. My goal is to teach myself how to grow my own fruits and veggies while teaching my children and my grandson these skills as well. I live in Port Saint Lucie, I am disabled and my wife is a teacher, so my funds are limited so I am trying to do this with what I have avaliable to me here at the house. So far things are going quite well, but there are many things that I could use your advice with. Below you will find a link that will show you pictures and explanations of my progress so far.

Ok now to the gardening questions. As you can see from the picts I have all of my indoor starts growing and flourishing. The biggest concern that I am having right now is that because we had no spring this year I have gotten some really accelerated growth and need to get alot of these plants into the garden. The garden will be prepared by the 1rst of August, which is when alot of these plants are supposed to be planted. The problem is that it is so incredibly hot this year that I'm afraid to put them in until it cools down a bit. While I think my lettuce and tomatoes will be ok, I'm not so sure about my egg plant, peppers, and onions. I am finding that when I pull them out into the direct sunlight these plants get stressed very quickly even though they have plenty of water.