Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
adelegrows

First Medicinal Herb Garden

adelegrows
13 years ago

Hey all. I'm totally new to planting a medicinal herb garden.... especially in South Florida. I've found that certain herbs are very expensive, so if I can grow them I'd be a much happier girl ;)

I'm willing to give up as much land as necessary and as many pots.

But I was wondering if you have any suggestions, seeing that I've never grown any herbs other than basil, parsley and oregano.

I have a lot more research to do and I'm realistic that some of these herbs may not be able to grow in south Florida. I don't know if I'm even going to find half of these herbs in South Florida (other than seeds).

However the herbs that I need to look into are:

French Lavender

Lemon Balm

Mint

Nettle

St. John's Wort

Red Clover

Chamomile

Skullcap

Stevia

Echinacea

Goldenseal

Dandelion

Milk Thistle

Marshmallow

Meadowsweet

Passion Flower

Peppermint

Evening Primrose

Fennel

Any suggestions/help that you can possibly provide will be much appreciated.

THANK YOU!

Comments (19)

• loufloralcityz9
    13 years ago

adelegrows,

They sell most of those plants and more on eBay.
    Search for: herb plants
    When I did a search just now on eBay, 717 herb plants came up.
    You can also search for them one by one but make sure you put 'plants' after the name.
    I hope this helps,

Lou

• corar4gw
    13 years ago

Richters of Canada carries all sorts of medicinal herbs. Go to richter.com and check out their on line catalog or order a free one to be mailed to you. So far, I've found them to be very accomodating.
    cora

• adelegrows
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks so much!!
    I'll check out ebay and Richters tonight.
    Does anyone have any tips as to starting the herb garden and maintaining it??? I'm really not a natural green thumb.

Thanks

• imagardener2
    13 years ago

only certain "southern" types of lavender will grow in Florida.