Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
skurosawa

Need Help with baby plum tree

skurosawa
10 years ago

Hi everyone I'm new here to garden web. I was unsure which thread to join so I joined the Florida one. I'm also new to gardening and am always needing advice

I just bought a baby plum tree off eBay it looked beautiful and healthy when it arrived. It's about 4ft tall and came with green leaves. I planted it in my front yard right away. I dug a deep hole layered it with potting soil (I didn't have any top soil and a good gardener in my family told me she often uses potting soil if she doesn't have top soil) the soil included miracle grow so it's been fed and it's been raining like crazy so it's getting plenty of water

Today I noticed the leaves look like they're drying up? It was planted maybe 3 days ago tops so could this be transplant shock?

Is it anything I need to worry about?

Is there anything I can do to help it out that I haven't already done?

I don't have the greenest thumb in the world but I figure gardening is a skill that takes practice and luck

I also have a better bush tomato plant I planted in a pot back in May I already have 2 tomatoes on it but I noticed the bottom half of the plant is turning yellow I think it's getting too much water from all the rain if I transplant it to the ground will that help it or could shock kill it?

Comments (6)

• thetradition
    10 years ago

It's an awfully hot time of year to plant a tree.

The rain may not be enough for it. I'd water every day (twice a day if no rain) deeply.

I trust your tree is planted in a well-drained location? They can't take standing in water.