Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
puglvr1

Plumeria cuttings...should I water?

puglvr1
9 years ago

Potted a couple of Plumeria cuttings 9 days ago in very moist/wet "Gritty mix". I haven't watered it since then...should I water it again today? If not when do you recommend I water it again...

Also is the "wrinkling" on the trunk normal? Its my first attempt at rooting plumeria so I have NO idea what's normal or if the wrinkling means its rotting...

Thanks in advance for any help...

Comments (26)

• puglvr1
    Original Author
    9 years ago

The top of the cuttings looks pretty good, lots of green and the new growths look good too...

• tomncath
    9 years ago

N, they look very dehydrated to me, I think they are way too dry but I'm sure no expert. I'd post your pictures over at the Plumeria forum to get advice from those with much more experience.

Sticks left for months to years in NO soil can leaf out and bloom from the green tips regardless of what is happening below....

Tom

• wallisadi
    9 years ago

To much water, no water. Need to harden or callous the end before replanting.. I think you have an issue.........hopefully someone can go into more detail...........

• tomncath
    9 years ago

I agree, I don't think they are going to make it if left as they are. My bet is that the bottoms are black and rotting.

N - did you leave the sticks out for 10-14 days to heal over the exposed end wounds before putting them in the mix? If not you need to pull them out and inspect the ends, cutting back the rotted sections. Then, put them in the shade but in an area with good ventilation, and mist them at least daily to try to rehydrate the upper sections some. If you see any new black rotting at the bottom they will have to be cut back again....

Tom

• puglvr1
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you for all your help and advise...I will pull them out, inspect the ends and cut off any rotting parts and re-start them.