Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hester_2009

no flowers on thai crown of thorns

hester_2009
12 years ago

I have about 20 different thai crown of thorns - some are in pots and others in the ground or planter boxes.

Only 2 plants are blooming! I have most in full sun, I water sparingly, fertilize often and still no blooms. At a local nursery, I noticed theirs weren't blooming either and the guy said they were somewhat cyclical. Well, I have had others that bloomed continuously - (those are the ones that are blooming now)

they are big healthy plants with no bugs or diseases -

anyone have any thoughts and/or do you need pics?

Thanks,

Hester

Comments (16)

• juneroses Z9a Cntrl Fl
    12 years ago

Hi Hester - Sorry I can help with your problem. I'm just a beginner with COT. My lone Thai is in well draining mix in a clay pot. The pot is in full sun and has been getting LOTS of water from the rain lately. It's been blooming well.

Since you have so many, I have a question. On most plants, if I wanted to encourage branching I would pinch out the growing tip. However, I'm afraid to just cut off the end of a COT branch. How do you promote branching? - June

• katkin_gw
    12 years ago

My COT had a lot of die back from the winter, so I cut it back to green stems. It came back really nice now and is very full. All the ones I have are in full sun and well draining. Most are in the ground. They get water 2 x a week at least from the sprinklers.

• hester_2009
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Katkin- Thanks for responding - I still don't know what is wrong with mine as I'm caring for them just the way you care for yours! However, I bought them this spring and haven't cut them at all so maybe I need to do that. I might experiment with one.