Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
koalatlady

Need tips for Florida Vegetable Storage

Koalatlady
10 years ago

I'm new to gardening in Florida and not sure where I'll be storing my fall harvest. My backyard garden is only about 200 sq feet, but after my spring/summer harvest, I realize I need a place to store my veggies since we don't have root cellars here. I was toying with the idea of getting an old refrigerator and setting the temperature somewhere around 50-60, but not sure if I'm overlooking an obvious solution. I already utilize freezing, and will experiment with canning this fall, but still need a place for all the onions, potatoes and other veggies I don't want to freeze or can. Any suggestions for me? Thank you very much in advance.
Sheila

Comments (10)

• zzackey
    10 years ago

I just keep onions and potatoes at room temperature. How many potatoes do you have? I have seen Potato bins, but I don't understand how they work. Depending on the veggies I would think your fridge would have to be alot cooler. Like a normal fridge. Or learn how to freeze them. I have never had enough to freeze, so I can't offer advice, Sorry! Potatoes are planted on Feb 14th here. I never had luck with onions. I need to amend my soil better to grow them. Lettuce, S
    wiss chard, broccoli, cauliflower, collards are the cool weather veggies I try to grow. Had bad luck with spinach two years in a row. It needs cold stratification. I did mine in the fridge for two weeks. It still won't germinate.

• loufloralcityz9
    10 years ago

zackey,

The fridge is not cold enough, the seeds need to go in the freezer for proper cold stratification. The same applies for onion seeds, 4 to 6 weeks. I pop the whole onion & garlic seed heads in the freezer and clean them later when they come out.

Lou

• ibarbidahl
    10 years ago