Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sweetmonkeycheese

bop and false bop question

So I have figured out why my BOP plant has blooms when it is so small and why there is no blue yet... it is a fake, that is ok it came w/ the house and it is still pretty. I went through some pics of late summer last year and the big plant next to the clumps of the blooming fakes should be an honest BOP (thick greenish bottom part of flower and blue frilly sticking through the orange and it is much larger plant) The real BOP has nothing coming up that looks like a soon to be bloom, is it just still kinda early for it to bloom?

I am not a good gardener, I am just starting to learn how to bother w/ plants so I am more in the stage of weeding, some miracle grow once or twice and pulling the old rotten leaves off it. I have never pruned it (cut it) just pulled gross leaves off a few months ago.

I have heard the more root bound a BOP is the more it will bloom... mine is in the ground and and after a wet spring and heavy leaf litter I cleaned up the bed the BOP and fake BOP are in, pulled up weeds and some old spindly looking Mexican petunia, there were roots going every which way and I had no idea how to tell what was what.... maybe I damaged the BOP? ( I was pulling roots right along w/ weeds and dead rotten little water logged plants) The leaves are looking good, just no blooms yet while the fake BOP has 3 different plants w/ blooms.

any thoughts, tips ( about either plant )

Comments (8)

• leahrenee1
    9 years ago

You lost me, so you have one bird of paradise and a plant that looks similar but is not?

• sweetmonkeycheese
    Original Author
    9 years ago

yep, I thought they were all Bird of Paradise and I thought it odd that the big plant had no blooms and teh little plants did. I had heard that it can take 4 years for a BOP to bloom, we are new to this house and the plants were already here, but the little ones dont look like they would be 4 yrs old.