Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tclynx

Easy Florida Food Garden Ideas

tclynx
15 years ago

Hi all,

I've been gardening here in Central Florida for only a couple years though I have had some great success with a few plants.

The current winner of the easy and useful plant award in my eyes so far is SWEET POTATO. It loves the hot and wet and we have gotten great harvest with little work. It is easy to propagate, stores ok, seems little bothered by pests, is not very demanding in the methods of gardening I have used. Oh, and it isn't just the tubers that are edible, the shoots and young leaves are also edible.

Please share other plants you have found to be easy and useful in our climate.

Comments (17)

• c9pilot
    15 years ago

I suppose you've already considered all the fruit? Citrus, avocado, tropical fruits such as mango, etc.?
    We can grow lots of herbs here...basil and such.

• tclynx
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Yea, the basil grows great and attracts beneficial insects too!!! It is nice to throw a few basil leaves into salad or soup but we don't use much of our basil at all.

I like growing peas and beans unfortunately I find that most of the peas/beans that one might want to store dry are a bit difficult to do that way here. We had fairly good luck with the black garbanzo beans last spring. My favorites are the snow peas that like the cool months.

We have some banana and papaya growing but will only get fruit if we have a warm winter and do some protecting during the cold snaps.

We also have a couple citrus trees.

I do have some Moringa trees started but they are still too new for me to know how well they will do, very useful plant according to my reading though.

Still searching for quick and easy plants to add to my list.

Here is a link that might be useful: www.TCLynx.com

• an_ill-mannered_ache
    15 years ago

easiest things in my garden (aside from bananas and citrus)...