Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fiishergurl

Will tomato plants survive the winter here?

Ginny Landers
9 years ago

Hi All,

I am new to growing tomatoes. I had so much fun growing them in the spring that I started a fall crop too. I have all types from short season that should definitely ripen before the frosts and others that I'm not so sure about.

So my question is... in the Orlando area (and I know every year is different) but on average for those fall tomato growers, when the Frost hits... when does it usually hit at the earliest and how many times and are you able to cover your plants and save them? Or do they usually die off in the winter and you have to start over?

Thanks for your help!

Ginny

Comments (11)

• katkin_gw
    9 years ago

If you are in Orlando you will probably get a freeze in the winter. Gardeners further south don't always get a freeze. Miami almost never.

• apapjim
    9 years ago

It matters where in Orlando. I'm in Apopka and had to drag my container grown tomatoes in about three times last winter. If you are in south Orlando or better yet near a lake you might be O. K. It doesn't seem as bad as it use to be. When we first moved up here 27 yrs ago we would get up to 10 hard freezes a year.,

• Ginny Landers
    Original Author
    9 years ago