Return to the Florida Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Grapefruit tree from seed?

Posted by saintpfla (My Page) on
Thu, Aug 11, 11 at 17:54

I have a question on growing a Marsh Pink grapefruit from seed.

I tried it "just for fun" last year when I realized my favorite grapefruit tree was in the slow decline. My seedling, is surprisingly doing really well! The only negative is it has the very large thorns that most nursery's breed out.

I've never done this before. What's the general thought on growing a grapefruit tree from seed? Don't do it! or Great idea!

The irony is, it's doing better than my Honeybell Orange tree that I bought from a nursery three years ago.

I'll try to take a pic so you can see and post back later.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Grapefruit tree from seed?

I think grapefruit are typically grafted onto rootstock to ensure that you get the same fruit as the parent.

Here is a link that might be useful: Growing Citrus Trees

o
Another Link

see link below

Here is a link that might be useful: UF Article

o
Grafting Link

this link shows you how to graft yourself

Here is a link that might be useful: Grafting Citrus

o

Thanks for the links!!! The below info describes EXACTLY how my grapefruit tree is growing...very interesting. I guess I'll toss the seedling this weekend.

"...if you plant the seed from an especially tasty orange and nurture that tree for better or worse, you may have to wait 8 to 15 years for that seedling tree to bear fruit. Your seedling tree may grow straight up without much branching and may be very thorny. (Even budded Meyer lemon, Bearss lemon, and grapefruit trees can be thorny too.)

In most cases, your seedling tree will produce fruit
similar to that of the parent plant. Even then, fruit
quality from the seedling tree may not be as good as
that from the parent tree for several years after fruit is
first produced. And you'll never get the added,
beneficial effects from a carefully chosen rootstock."

o