Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ssdly

How to trim or train Hong Kong Orchid Trees

SSDly
11 years ago

Dear Gardeners:

This is my first time posting and I need your suggestions.

I have two young HK Orchids that are 7 ft tall now. I want them to grow as tall as possible so not to block the lake view but rather form a large canopy on top. What can I do to encourage this type of growth? What kinds of fertilizers to use?

I've read many posts that are more related to flowering. I appreciate your help.

Comments (18)

• tropicbreezent
    11 years ago

I have 2 also, probably slightly shorter than yours. When they were small they decided to spread out sideways instead of up. I put in a tall stake beside each one and tied their branches to it. They put out a few flowers, first time. Now they'll stay like that for another year or so before I untie them to see if they're going to keep going upwards instead of spreading. I'm optimistic about it, but will see.

• sun_worshiper
    11 years ago

Hey, good question. I am training one too. They are exceedingly rapid growers, and a bit brittle. I have learned that it is a bad idea to push them too much with fertilizer when they are growing their central leader. Makes too much leaf growth and they are prone to snapping in wind. I've had mine shoot up to 15' tall twice and each time get snapped off about 5' above the ground in big wind storms.

Here is was, being trained up a bamboo stake:

And after big windstorm:

The second time it happened, it was because the lowest branch tore away from the trunk, and took 3/4 of the trunk with it.