Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tomncath

When to cut the flower off a banana stalk?

tomncath
14 years ago

So, these are my first banana stalks and I don't know what to make out of these baby bananas dropping off the bottom of the first stalk. Is this normal and a sign it's time to cut off the flower or is something wrong that I need to attend to?

Also, the second fruit stalk flower cover doesn't have that maroon covering I'm used to seeing, does this mean their is something I need to attend to with the second grouping of bananas.

Tom

{{gwi:412803}}

Comments (20)

• tropicalfreak
    14 years ago

Great question. My Dwarf Cavendish bloomed a month ago and the bananas are forming nicely. Anxious awaiting someone to reply to your thread....

Tropicalfreak

• annafl
    14 years ago

Holy smokes, Tom, that's one big bunch of bananas! Looks great! Don't do anything to the stalk or flower. Let it hang. I'm no banana expert, but I find that each bunch has a predetermined size that that mother plant can support. After that, the rest of the little bananas don't form anymore. From the looks of yours, your mama did well. Don't worry, just wait. I like to pick mine when the first banana turns yellow. Then prepare to eat bananas, make banana bread, banana cream pie, smoothies, etc. I always end up freezing a bunch as well for smoothies later on or for banana bread. What type of banana is that?

Anna

• tomncath
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Hi Anna, it's a Mahoi, so I'm looking forward to double stalks with the upcoming corms :-)

• whgille
    14 years ago

Tom
    You have some great looking bunch of bananas! I don't usually cut the flower from mine, but other people do when the bananas stop forming. Some people eat the flower, I saw them for sale at the oriental market. I use the leaves for cooking sometimes.