Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
palmcityfl

Growing Figs in Zone 10

palmcityfl
16 years ago

I'd like to grow a few varieties of figs in my Palm City yard. Are there some that are especially suited to Zone 10 in sunny, humid South Florida? Brown turkey figs are sold here, but I haven't seen any others at nurseries. Fig trees can grow large. Are they best suited to containers in this area? That way, they can be pruned and kept manageable.

Comments (20)

• katkin_gw
    16 years ago

I didn't know any better and put mine in the ground, but I have been told it is best to keep them in containers due to the nematodes. Let's see what Lisa our fruit expert, and the others have to say.;o)

• fawnridge (Ricky)
    16 years ago

My biggest problem has been the birds. They'll even eat them when the figs are still green.

• barbcoleus
    16 years ago

I grow my figs in pots in store bought potting soil. THis is my first year-I got cuttings from someone on the fig forum early last winter. I've had some figs this year already-they are Celeste. UCDavis has free cuttings but Lisa above knows more about them. I am just beginning to learn about figs. Lisa's right, birds don't seem to bother them although it was a concern of mine.

• countrynest
    16 years ago

Palmcity,
    I am in zone 9. I planted three Brown Turkey, Fig trees in the ground. One is a puny little one that has never done anything but be attacked by nematodes. I am told to pluck it burn it and not plant anything in that place. I have another that is about 4 feet. Doing well but the winters are rough on her.
    Then I have My big one. I bought her big already. She is very healthy, produces big figs. We eat plenty but so do birds,wasps and little bugs that you can see in this picture.

Felix

• gcmastiffs
    16 years ago