Return to the Florida Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
tiny bugs on my pepper plants

Posted by dcastillo94 st pete (My Page) on
Mon, Aug 13, 12 at 22:17

Can anyone tell me what these little guys are... both the white ones and the little black beetle looking things?

Found them on my bell pepper plants and have sense removed the parts with the highest concentration of the critters...

thanx
Danny

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: tiny bugs on my pepper plants

• Posted by whgille Oakland FL Zone 9B (My Page) on
    Tue, Aug 14, 12 at 8:20

Hi Danny

I am not an expert in bugs, but they look like some sort of aphid. Whatever they are they are not helping the pepper plant, wash them off with a hose and if they are in full sun, give them some shade. Summer is very stressful for the pepper plants.

Silvia

Here is a link that might be useful: aphid

o

thanx for the reply..

some one else told me I should buy some lady bugs and let them go at night...
Said they love to eat the Aphids...

Are lady bugs in any way harmful to the plants?
thanx
Danny

o

Def. aphids - & the white things appear to be their empty husks, meaning something is already feeding on them - I think I spy a lacewing larvae.

If you leave it alone & refrain from spraying anything, the problem may go away on its own....

HTH

o

Could the white bugs be mealybugs?

o

• Posted by saldut 9-10 st pete, fl (My Page) on
    Wed, Aug 15, 12 at 17:54

I don't want to venture a guess as to what those buggies are, but just want to advise a good first-tier bug spray that is cheap and non-toxic... fill a squirt bottle w/rubbing alcohol and squirt in a bit of dish soap, Dawn is good- give it a shake and then spray awaay..... it kills most bugs and you can then wash it off and eat whatever....I keep several bottles out around the garden...I just use bottles that Clorox Clean-up or Lysol w/bleach, etc. came in, after they are empty...sally

o