Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
k80c_gw

Prepping veggie bed

k80c
11 years ago

Hi all! Newbie here, seeking your wisdom!

I've finally staked a claim to a portion of our yard to start a veggie garden. I'm a transplanted northerner, and I'm clueless about veggie gardening on this alien planet!. The spot lies between two old-school concrete driveway tracks. The soil (if you can call it that) is sand... as in, slightly more organic matter than the beach. I know I should do raised beds, but I'm too antsy to get started! So, I'm ready to learn from my mistakes this year. Question is, how and with what should I amend the soil? How much sand should I remove? Should I be concerned about ph given the tracks I'll be planting between?

Many thanks for any guidance as I dive in!

Comments (5)

• whgille
    11 years ago

Hi k80c

The cheapest and fastest way to amend the soil is to add the free compost from the city, you just have to find that out where you can call and they deliver to you free of charge in bulk.
    Best is to use raised beds to hold the soil in but I have seen amended beds that are raised without any borders, you just have to pack the soil around it.
    The more work that you put in the beginning the better results you will have.
    There are a lot of different ways to amend the soil, it all depends on what you prefer to do.:)
    Good luck with your new projects!

Community garden beds amended with free compost

Silvia

• ocalagirls
    11 years ago

I always point people to the IFAS veggie garden guide. It's got all the info you need to get started.

Here is a link that might be useful: Planting guide

• subtrop
    11 years ago