Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
swflnewbie1

Need Help

SWFLNewBie1
10 years ago

What should I do to make my veggie plants survive and look healthy?

I have planted in the potting soil.

My plants are in raised beds, in a greenhouse, with an overhead sprinkler ( timer waters every 6 hours for 10 mintues each time)

I fertilize with an all purpose vegetable fertilizer

My veggies are not doing well... I need help please?

I have read up a little on specific fertilizers for specific plants, but it all makes me head hurts.

Any help will be highly appreciated.

Thank you kindly

Comments (11)

• natives_and_veggies
    10 years ago

you might be overwatering.

• Michael AKA Leekle2ManE
    10 years ago

I would also question the overhead watering. I'm no expert, but I think it's usually recommended to irrigate only the roots. It is my understanding that overhead watering plus our naturally high humidity can lead to fungal infections and rot. Perhaps being in a greenhouse changes this, especially if it is well ventilated, but I thought the purpose of a greenhouse was to basically maintain a higher humidity (in areas that are normally low in humidity)?

• whgille
    10 years ago

Hi, a picture would help...but from what you are saying I found the following mistakes for growing veggies.

Zone 10 at this time of the year don't need a greenhouse, mine in zone 9b is only use for protection from the freezing nights.

Overhead watering and that often can invite foliage diseases and root rot.

What vegetables are you growing now? there are planting times for cool or warm weather veggies.

What potting soil did you use? some of them come with fertilizer added.

Silvia

• carolb_w_fl_coastal_9b
    10 years ago

As Silvia says, greenhouse may not be best environment for veggies - especially in zone 10. Daytime temps here have been in the 90s & I can only imagine that plus high humidity would make it difficult for most, if not all, vegetables to survive.