Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
captainjz16

Planting a Sweet Viburnum Hedge this Weekend

captainjz16
10 years ago

I'm planting 100' of sweet viburnum this weekend and want to know if I should add any fertilizer/top soil/etc to each hole/plant.

Also, same thing for variegated arboricola.

I'm a novice to this stuff, as you might be able to tell from the question. Thanks!

Comments (3)

• echobelly
    10 years ago

I've only been here four years, but have dug up a good part of my lawn and planted native plants, including viburnum. I mixed in lots of cow manure, and put about 6 inches of wood chip mulch on top. I fertilize 4 times a year. Everything's doing great and growing quickly. I planted some more along the side yard, with no soil amendments. The bushes that survived, are smaller than when I planted them.

• PRO
    BeverlyFLADeziner
    10 years ago

I recently planted a hedge of Brush Cherry Eugenia (Syzygium Paniculatum) instead of the Sweet William. I planted three 3G shrubs of Sweet William and found that I was a slave to watering it to keep it from wilting, so I switched to the Brush Cherry that appears to grow faster with smaller leaves. Also the Sweet William smells like Cat pee when it's trimmed or brushed against.

I watched our landscapers when they planted shrubs, and their practice was to 'water in' the shrubs. They dug the hole for the 3G bush, put a cup of Milorganite at the bottom of the hole, filled the hole about 1/2 to 3/4 full of water and then placed the shrub in the hole. Then they back filled the hole, & pressed down the soil to get the air out. Then after the shrubs were installed, came back and water the line of shrubs.

It's been a few months now and I haven't lost a shrub, and other than watering a few times right after they were planted, I now rely on just the rain for the shrubs and the Brush Cherry are twice the size of the Sweet William shrubs.

• Michael AKA Leekle2ManE
    10 years ago