Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print

I'd like to grow bunching onions in my garden near the Ocean in southern Brevard. After some research, I discovered that the kind I want is allium fistulosum. Dave's garden lists 7 varieties. Can anyone tell me, what variety is most likely to do best in my area, whether I should plant seeds or sets (do these even come as sets?), and can I plant now or would it be best to wait until spring? Can I just plant "green onions" from the grocery store? I admit I tried that and they died.

Comments (8)

• whgille
    13 years ago

Hi Timetraveler

I am not an onion expert but last year I planted the granex type short season onions red and white and used them as scallions as well. I still have leftover dry onions outside in my porch. I planted sets that are very inexpensive, I got them at the local feed store and the big box stores. I like the convenience of planting sets, is a fool proof method to grow onions. They will take any soil, and sun or shade. They would prefer a full sun location with an amended soil of course. You can also start from seeds like right now to be transplanted later, it is also cheap and you can get a lot of varieties. Sets are also available through the internet from various sources, it is your choice. Onions are a good deal to plant, I had a lot of them even though I kept giving away.

Silvia

• carolb_w_fl_coastal_9b
    13 years ago

You can find seeds @ many stores that carry vegetable seeds. I just started seeds of 'Crimson Forest' bunching onions - they're so easy to transplant, they can be started in a flat (I used the bottom of a clear plastic berry container).

Make sure to check the date, tho - onion seeds are short-lived - if they're from last year, they likely won't sprout.

• captstinky
    13 years ago