Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shuffles_gw

Bluebonnet rice

shuffles_gw
11 years ago

Bluebonnet rice at six weeks - fertilized with rabbit pellets. Yeah, I know they are planted too closely. This is my first time growing rice.

Comments (40)

• User
    11 years ago

full sun, water.....??? keep posting pics, thanks......m

• shuffles_gw
    Original Author
    11 years ago

The rice is in full sun in my garden, which is poorly drained and tends to be very wet, but not underwater, in summer whenever we get excessive rains. Due to circumstances, I planted about a month late. I plan to post more photos as this progresses. This year I just hope to get seed for next year and to share.

• corar4gw
    11 years ago

Love the idea of growing rice, but can the deer get to it?
    cora

• shuffles_gw
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Cora,
    I live in the city where there are no deer. I imagine the deer would love the rice plants, though.

• happy_fl_gardener; 9a, near DeLand
    11 years ago

How did you decide on what variety of rice to grow?

• shuffles_gw
    Original Author
    11 years ago

'How did you decide on what variety of rice to grow?'

It wasn't very difficult. There are very few varieties available in small amounts. Bluebonnet was the only one advertised as upland, non-paddy, rice. This is what Baker Creek says about it:
    "A traditional rice grown by native Mayan people who call it "Blue Bonnet". Collected by Mennonite farmers who have a community near Belmopan, it was given to them by their Mayan neighbors in the town of Armenia, Belize. This is an upland rice variety as it does not need to be flooded and can be grown in regular garden soil. Very productive plants. Here are the "growing instructions" we have for this seed:
    Warm weather - plant after last frost. Short season, start indoors about the same time you would tomatoes, but still may not have much luck.
    Needs rich soil (good Nitrogen)