Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joeworm

Now that I've finished preping the new raised beds.......

joeworm
12 years ago

What do I grow?!!!!

I'm in North Florida and this is my first attempt at a vegetable garden.

Need ideas on how and what to plant in the 4' x 8' raised beds for a Fall/Winter garden.

Thanks

Comments (11)

• carolb_w_fl_coastal_9b
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Here's a link to the Univ. of FL's veggie gardening guide - scroll down to Table 4 see the cool season planting dates for your area....

Here is a link that might be useful: Veg. Gardening Guide

• joeworm
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks.

Any idea on how to plant those things in a raised bed?

What goes where?

• carolb_w_fl_coastal_9b
    12 years ago

Not as much expertise as others here, but here's what I can share:

I start almost everything in recycled seedling celpacks, using a soil-less seed starting mix. But you can also buy seed-starting kits @ most of the big box stores that come w/ the soil-less mix, celpacks & a covered tray. I recommend that for a beginner, as it's practically foolproof & that's what I did @ 1st. Just keep covered trays out of the sun & uncover & expose to sunlight when seedlings sprout.

& of course, you can buy transplants to get a head start, tho the varieties can be limited. & since it is sort of late, transplants for things like broccoli, peppers, tomatoes,eggplant, etc. will give you a head start before it gets too cold. Things like lettuces & other greens are fast growers & can still be started from seed.

Beans, root crops like carrots, beets & radishes (& dill) should be seeded directly in the ground - they are unsuited to transplanting, IME.

As far as placement, there are many sources on the Gardenweb (& elsewhere) about companion planting, square-foot gardening, etc. You might also check out the Vegetable Gardening forum here.