Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrskeith_gw

Newbe

mrskeith
10 years ago

Hello Everyone,
I am new to this whole gardening thing and am looking for a place I can go for help. My knowledge on gardening is at 0 lol but itnis something that I am very interested in for my family and I. A few years back I was diagnosed with cancer and after a few years of medication and treatment with no success I've decided to try and more organic and holistic approach.. I just recently move back to Florida and my Iintentions are to create an organic garden to produce the majority of our herds, fruits and vegetables but as I stated above I have minimal knowledge and next to no experience. I hope that this forum will help me get connected with people who may be willing to help me with this .
Thanks

Comments (7)

• zzackey
    10 years ago

If we know your zone it is alot easier to help you. Florida has several growing zones. I live near Northeast Florida and I am in zone 8b. The people on here have been a great help to me and to others, but the best thing you can do, in my opinion, is to find your local Dept. of Agriculture extension service. They have a horticulturist there and master gardeners to answer your questions. Plus they have classes, festivals and free pamphlets and you can get you soil tested to find out what nutrients your soil is lacking. I too have been looking for organic and herbal remedies. Medicines haven't worked for me in over 9 years. There is also an herb site on here and a vegetable growing site, plus many more if you go to the home page.. Welcome back to Florida! Maggie

• shavedmonkey (Harvey in South Fl.)Z10b
    10 years ago