Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
happy_fl_gardener

Harvesting Ice Cream Bananas today

I've been growing Ice Cream bananas for only a few years and this is the second bunch this clump has produced. I'm especially pleased with how well this variety handles the very cold weather.

Comments (8)

• happy_fl_gardener; 9a, near DeLand
    Original Author
    11 years ago

This is the same bunch, only not so close.

Christine

• dangermouse01 (coastal central FL 9B)
    11 years ago

Nice bunch.
    I thought the Ice Cream was supposed to have a blue-ish coloring? Do they out grow that before turning yellow? If they did have the blue-ish coloring, I wanna buy a pup from you.
    My IC turned out to be a Pisang Awak (I am finding out that a lot of bananas sold as IC are really PA). I currently have fruit hanging off my Namwa and Gran Nain, with my PA, Raja Puri and Manzano all flowering.

DM

• keiki
    11 years ago

That really doesn't look like ice cream bananas to me but maybe it is just how the photo is showing it here. My ice cream always show the blue green coloration. Either way they look really nice! I bet they are delicious.

Original Author
    11 years ago

dangermouse and keiki ~ You both brought up an interesting thought questioning my bananas. I googled ice cream banana and found out that it is also called blue java. I can't say that I noticed any blue on the fruit skin but I wasn't looking for it either. After looking for blue I may have seen a faint blush blush at a certain angle in the shade.