Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
petunia17_gw

Port Charlotte Gardening

petunia17
10 years ago

I'm new to the Port Charlotte area. I'm looking for recommendations of good garden centers or plant nurseries for trees, shrubs and plants beyond the big box stores. Thanks

Comments (38)

• petunia17
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks Llinda for the info. I'll try to go to your plant sale.

• marcia_m
    10 years ago

Also Hazeltine Nurseries in Venice, (Tamiami Trail or I-75 to River Road) http://www.hazeltinenurseries.com

• brute
    10 years ago

If you're interested in tropical fruit trees, there are a couple of great nurseries out on Pine Island, Tree House and Fruitscapes. I've bought a BUNCH of trees from Tree House over the years. Their selection is fantastic. Fruitscapes is a newer business that opened since I last visited the island. I'll check it out next time.
    Closer to you there's a nursery, where I've bought quite a few fruit trees at reasonable prices. It's located WAY off the beaten path. It's located on a cul-de-sac called Panther Court off of Hillsborough. It's called something like D&M Nursery. The guy's name is Don, and wouldn't you know it, I've misplaced his business card AGAIN! Grrrr.....

• dircontracts
    8 years ago

Hi, I'm a new homeowner in the area (Deep Creek to be specific). I'm having the house landscaped and would like to have some fruit trees put in as well. Could anyone tell me what fruit trees grow the best in the area? Second, what variety of oranges, for eating, grow the best. Thanks!!

• Michael AKA Leekle2ManE
    8 years ago